jump to navigation

My favourite CLI apps November 30, 2006

Posted by arungoodboy in linux, shell.
trackback

My machine isn’t the fastest, so I’m always on the look out for simple and powerful CLI tools instead of the prettier, GUI driven ones. Having said that, I like these so much that I don’t intend to really switch, even if I get the hardware eventually. Here’s a short list of my favourite ones:

centericq: This neat little IM client is what I use for Google Talk. It also supports Yahoo, MSN, IRC, and some other protocols. This is an ideal example of how a good CLI app should be.

orpheus: From the creator of centericq comes this nice little mp3 player for the shell. Apart from mild problems in playlist loading/saving, this one is pretty comfortable to use too. Another nice player I’ve tried is mp3blaster.

snownews: I’ve mentioned this already, and its worth a look. Nice pleasant feedreader, allows opening the news with any browser and stuff like that.

lynx: This is a pretty popular shell browser and probably needs no introduction.. I use it with snownews, it even opens sites like gmail, and I like the purty colours.

mc: The GNU midnight commander filemanager doesn’t really need any introduction either. I used to use ROX Filer before, but I fell in love with mc once I got used to it. This one is a must have. I just love the sensible function key mappings, directory hotlists & emacs-style bindings.

Well these are the most common ones I use. Emacs might count in the list, but I usually run the GUI version. If you like tools like these, and know other similar ones that I might like, let me know!

P.S. Things like mutt and irssi didn’t make this list because I like gmail and don’t use IRC respectively, so my experience with them is limited.

Comments

1. tamihania - April 7, 2007

Hej – I like your choice of applications πŸ™‚
Perhaps I would have some additinal hints for you:
1. You can use mutt with gmail – my mutt is “a living example”…lol – just install f.i. esmtp! (the link with additional useful hints on the subject: http://mogrify.homelinux.org/2006/01/03/using-mutt-with-gmail/)
2. Command line apps can be also pretty…Try here f.i. here: http://princ3.wordpress.com/2006/10/18/transparent-consoleprogramms-for-linux-i-use/
Have fun and best seasonal greetings,
tami

2. arungoodboy - April 7, 2007

I’ve actually started using mutt+gmail recently, and I love it!
And thanks for the ‘mc -b’ trick, my (slightly) dull desktop does look much prettier suddenly πŸ™‚


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

